Friday, September 22, 2006

The Influential Ten - Revealed

So after weeks of voting, we can now reveal the results of The Influential Ten.

Simon Breakwell, Expedia

Sergey Brin and Larry Page, Google

Tony Cheng and Jim Donnelly, IgoUgo

Barry Diller, InterActive Corp/Expedia

Bill Gates, Microsoft

Mark Jones, Online Travel Company

Brent Hoberman and Martha Lane-Fox,

Stelios Haji-Ioannou, EasyJet

Steve Kaufer and Langley Steinert, TripAdvisor

Michael O’Leary, Ryanair

Click here for full analysis of the list.

And who else was on the shortlist? Pierre Chappaz and Dominique Vidal (Kelkoo), Bob Deiner and Dave Litman (, Dinesh Dhajima (Ebookers), John Hatt (Cheapflights), David Filo and Jerry Yang (Yahoo!), Terry Jones (Travelocity), Andy Philips and Adrian Critchlow (Active Hotels), Simon Talling-Smith (, Jay Walker (Priceline), Alex Zoghlin (Orbitz).

Many thanks to all those that voted. And congratulations to those selected...

Let us know what you think on the comments page...

Kevin May, editor, Travolution


Lys @ BlogonTravel said...

I was wondering who will still be an influtial person 10 years from now, and which company..

Travolution blogger said...

way too difficult to predict... travel companies will be forced to adapt by changes in consumer behaviour.

the next ten pioneers and innovators may well emerge come from traditional travel companies that have evolved to embrace online, but equally from the next generation of new media entrepreneurs that in fact have no connection to travel.